There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment.What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

In today’s world, students are primarily ranked and compared through one or two exams rather than continuous evaluation. Exams motivate students to study as well as help to compare their studies whereas exams are also the reason for stress, anxiety, and pressure among the pupils.

First of all, students main focus will be to clear their exams, which motivates them to study. Without passing their tests, they cannot move forward, so they are forced to learn and pass their papers. Additionally, exams provide a method to compare and evaluate how one student performs relative to another, giving students a chance to identify and improve their weaknesses

On the other hand, exams are one of the things causing stress and anxiety among students. They must place their knowledge of whole semester in just one paper which can lead to negative mental health outcomes. For instance, according to the Health Ministry of India, around 38 students commit suicide every year due to failing their exams.

To conclude, assessment motivates students to study and improve their mistakes however, it is also one of the things which creates mental pressure among the students. Thus, pupils should be ranked from continuous assessment rather than one long exam.