These days it is much easier for many people to travel to different countries for tourism than in the past, do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Tourism has been prioritized in recent times more than ever due to the increasing desires for travel and experience. This has made it much more profitable for governments and institutions to put focus on. In turn, this allowed for travel accessibility for individuals of varying financial states.

As one would expect, this change may bring upon multiple issues. One major problem that presents in tourist regions is the tragic rise in pollution, likely attributed to the high density of visitors. Crowdedness is unpleasant as it is, let alone the sight of mess and trash on sites that are meant to be wonders of the world. With overpopulation comes competition in spots, seats and rooms that were previously available for the citizens. In extreme cases, residents may lose their homes and lands to the greed of business. Many incidents of redevelopments, relocations, and all sorts of projects have been taking place in multiple cities for the sole cause of entertainment events for vacationers.

There have been many great outcomes as well, in terms of producing profit for governments that otherwise would have perished to poverty. Various African countries like Tanzania, South Africa, Rwanda are examples of that. Another benefit is in the aspect of trading and business. More exposure to a country’s local products means for more potential customers, further aiding the economic status of governments. The rapid growth in technology and engineering is a noteworthy change that tourism has brought about. It has made travel easier than ever before. Whether it be planes, or trains, or ships, visiting family or migrating for work is now less tedious than imaginable. These advantages cannot be overlooked, and as bad as the disadvantages can get, tourism has brought much joy and ease.