These days, many people are turning to use different social platforms, the ultimate target of them is to meet new friends and broaden their horizon. Do you agree that social media only advantages or disagree?

It has been increasingly common among many people that considering social media as a beneficial tool aiming to meet new friends and helping to broaden individuals’ horizon. While these platforms are advantageous, I personally disagree that they also can cause some problems like harming productivity by spending excessive time on screen and encourages unhealthy comparisons.

One of the most ultimate drawback is that spending enormous time for using social media can damage peoples’ productivity in several ways. Such as injuring their social skills and physical abilities. For instance, if a person overuses his or her phone in a day or at night, at the end of the day it causes exhaustion and overwhelm. By this, a person can become non active during the day, and roller coaster of emotions which is not knowing what they really want and feel. Not sleeping well leads to become an angry person who always struggles with getting on well with their close ones or colleagues. Moreover, exhaustion made by using too much social platforms can lead to shorten their physical abilities like not being bothered to do even small tasks, by this a person may become fat.

Another major demerit is that by being addicted to social media can take a toll on mental health which encourages unhealthy comparisons. The more a person gets use to it, the more it could reach its negative sides. For example, if an ordinary person starts to follow any celebrity’s life, she may start to think that her lifestyle looks like absurd, even if she is trying her best. So, it contributes anxiety and fear. The fear, which sticks on their mind round the clock, being afraid of always falling behind of everything and everyone.

In conclusion, social network is advantageous tool to make new friends and expand their horizon, although, I come to admit that it also has negative sides as damaging both mental and physical health of a person.