These days, people spend a large amount of money on their physical appearance. Why do people do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, individuals are more likely to spend large amounts of money on plastical operations in order to look less old. This tendency caused by influence of social media and people themselves and I strongly believe this is generally a negative development.

People purchasing on this kind of operations since online society affect people’s opinions about themselves. When people achieve the age upper than fourty, their appearance begin to cover with wrinkles,and their skin becoming inferior. By watching others,especially celebrities, they feel insecure and the feeling of it propels them to determine on operations. It is not only standards, but people themselves overthink. This may lead to people warp their faces. For instance, there was a woman who wanted to look like Anjelina Jolie and made a lot of operations for that. Eventually, she ended up looking like a skeleton.

I think that it is a negative development for two reasons. Firstly, this idea makes people lose their individuality and not to embrace theirselves. As I have mentioned, people on social media may propagate only good side of young faces and not show other side. Secondly, this trend impacts people’s perception of reality, because when they are following this kind of rules,individuals may forget what the real humanity is. Furthermore, they may waste so much money just on plastics without noticing it.

In conclusion, because of impact of social media individuals spending a big amounts of money on appearance and I firmly believe that it is a negative trend for two reasons:loss of people’s unique traits and people’s alertness.