These days, people spend a large amount of money on their physical appearance. Why do people do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it has become increasingly popular among people to invest a great amount of money into appearance to look more attractive and younger. This essay will give an explanation why this is happening. I believe that it is largely a change for the worse.

There are several reasons that influence people’s decision to look younger. One,K-pop groups encourage lookism. Most of the girls and few boys like these korean singers and singresses, who perform colorful clothes as well as a variety of hairstyles. A lots of their fans see them like the most handsome people in the world. They want to look like them and start to spend time on their look. Second, the popularity of cosmetics and plastic surgery is also a reason for this, and it has made paying attention to appearance a normal thing. If a person has a cursed nose or other facial defects, special surgeries can help to solve these problems and to look beautiful. Cosmetic products also can hide facial blemishes and change the face color. As a result, when individuals use them, they may feel more confident.

One of the reasons why I discourage this development is that it causes an appearance-based competition. If everyone wants to have a good face, physical attractiveness loses its significance. This happens because it becomes a common thing for people. In addition, inner virtues such as knowledge, morals, character might become less important. If whole world only cares about ones’ looking, their behaviour and mental or physical skills might be unnecessary. It means that people will be forced to prove not who they are, but how they appear. For instance, In Korea people pay attention more students’ apperance than their academic results when being tested for a job.

In conclusion, a great number of people spend much money to look younger because of K-pop groups’ performances, the development of surgeries and cosmetics. Personally, I think this change to be far worse, due to an appearance-based competition and a decline of core virtues such as intelligence, behaviour.