"These days people succeed in their chosen profession because they are good communicators and not just experts in a particular field". Discuss the reasons and why is the case. Give reasons to your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Change is the only phenomenon that has ever remained constant. Everything is prone to it. In much the same way, the idea/belief that people succeed in their chosen profession solely because they are experts in a particular field has also not remained the same over the passage of time. Therefore, it is now predominantly believed that good communication skills are just as important as expertise in a profession, and I personally resonate with it as well, quite a lot. I will be expounding upon this in further detail, in the following sections.

First of all, on the one hand those who believe that success depends more on communication than just expertise, they think so because companies now face a surplus of qualified candidates, and hiring managers look for individuals who can represent their skills well. People need to be good sellers of their expertise. Effective communication helps individuals assure interviewers of their capabilities and resilience. Passionate professionals often remain in touch with hiring teams, demonstrating interest and commitment to the field. Communication allows them to leave a lasting impression and show emotional intelligence, which often contributes to securing the position.

However, on the other hand, there are others who are convinced that being an expert is the main factor that determines success in a profession because not everyone possesses strong communication skills by nature. Some professionals, such as those with PhDs or extensive internship experience and research publications, may not need to promote themselves as their work already speaks for itself. These individuals are sometimes selected purely based on their achievements and qualifications.

Thus, to conclude; both opinions/perspectives present us with their own set of pros and cons but just as in so many cases, the best way to opt usually is the middle way in which things may usually remain harmoniously balanced. But still, in order to proceed forward effectively and immediately, we have to side with either one or the other and in this particular case, it is being good at communication while also having domain expertise that holds more merit points, albeit, I will still propose a middle ground.