Some people argue that teenager nowadays spend an excessive amount of time on their smartphones and social media? To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In recent years, the amount of time spent on smartphones and social media has sparked a heated debate. It is widely believed that the majority of adults are spending an enormous amount of time on the Internet and mobile phones. Despite some reasons for discouraging this development, I believe that this development is still viable.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why teenagers are not spending an excessive amount of time on their smartphones and social media. Firstly, teenagers are mostly busy with their studies so as to enter high-ranking universities. Since people graduate school at the age of eighteen, they inevitably have to study their career-based fields. As a result, they have little time left to scroll the Internet. Secondly, parents have already lessened the amount of time which is spent by their children on the Internet. To explain further, as many teenagers have more necessary goals, they catch more attention of their parents. When parents notice that their children are spending too much time on social media instead of on other beneficial activities, parents no longer allow them to utilize telephony. Hence, many people think that teenagers are spending limited time on smartphones.

On the other hand, there are some factors contributing people to think that too much time is spent on social media by adults. First and foremost, more and more people have become addicted to contents on social media. In other words, now that (or) teenagers have different accounts on social media like an Instagram account, they are expected to surf the Internet for a long time. As a consequence, they spend their quality time by merely wasting. To take teenagers living in Uzbekistan as an example, they are more likely to spend most of their time on the Internet as they are accustomed to using it (rather) thereby studying less. Not only does social media demotivate people from studying, but it also leads to more health problems such as eye strain. Another reason is that social media has become an important part of our lives. Only when people use smartphones, can they be aware of what happens around the world. For instance, the latest information is also spread immediately through social media. Consequently, this leads teenagers to stay online all the time. Therefore, many adults are thought to spend a lot of time on both mobile phones and social media.

In conclusion, although some people consider that people aged eighteen are spending less time for scrolling the Internet, I am more inclined to believe that they still spend too much time on them due to their addiction and an active role of media in our lives.