These days, travelling by air is getting cheaper and cheaper. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays, there are several airlines that offer affordable and well-furnished options for air travelers. In my point of view, this development brings both benefits and drawbacks in equal measure.

The rise in reasonably priced air travel could earn more money for the respective countries, increasing Gross Domestic Product per capita because the fair price persuades more people to travel across the world. Furthermore, people could have additional money for general expenses on their vacation journey. From a personal perspective, university students can explore the photogenic side of what is actually happening in the world with their lens during their gap year. Additionally, some valid issues for both the environment and individuals could be reduced, particularly gas emissions and time consumption. As a consequence, people do not need to promote sustainable development goals intentionally because traveling by air is also practicing sustainable behaviors as a hands-on practical.

On the other hand, inexpensive air travel could lead to more dreadful competition between airline brands because cheaper prices attract more consumer demand. Additionally, there are some potential problems with spending quality time with friends and families on road trips together. Spending time in either a van or car creates a more friendly and positive environment for our mental well-being and promotes inclusivity. Traveling by air requires addressing numerous privacy and security limitations due to the crowded area circumstances, so cheaper options create bulk buying and overconsumption of the product. Last but not least, airlines have to be wary of customers’ possible safety concerns because sometimes low prices might lead to bare minimum service.

Taking everything into account, the consequences of cheaper air travel would have both beneficial and detrimental effects on social and economic factors.