To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of genetically engineered foods. However, some people believe that GM foods are not only unhealthy but affect nature too. Do you agree or disagree about this?

It is obvious that GM production plays a vital role in the field of food security regarding the concern of global overpopulation. Talking about this trend, some people argue that it should not be encouraged due to the fear of negative effects on health and environment. However, I approve of this development.

On the one hand, good minerals and nutrients are still held within genetically mutated food products while the non-desirable ones can be eliminated. The mechanism of GM production is mutation in genes positively by selecting and implementing duplications of healthy and efficient genes, which means the final results are the most healthy coming out from the lab. In this way, laboratory food is in some way more beneficial for human’s health compared to “real” ones with genes not ideally selected. Moreover, people can pay less to have the same amount of nutrition because of its higher condensation within the designed products. This can be seen in the way supermarket pork, commonly known as pork from meat pigs is consumed by about 80% of the Vietnamese population due to its high nutritional level yet economical price.

On the other hand, if provided with enough investment, GM production can be the best alteration for the food industry in terms of environmental protection. For instance, once the government joins hands with food and beverage enterprises raising funds for research and study in food mutation, better-qualified and more varied types of vegetables and meat sources can be produced, hence the reduced carbon footprints of growing extra harvest or animals for their flesh.

In conclusion, the GM food industry should be promoted and supported socially and financially for its remarkable ability to secure the food demand of the population worldwide.