To what extent do you agree that the government should subsidize renewable energy to combat climate change?

Due to the advancement of renewable sources, there are more alternatives to replace the traditional ones. It raises the discussion that government should provide financial support to develop green energy to alleviate the pressing climate change. Personally, I mostly agree with this statement.

Admittedly, there are multiple challenges that government should take priority to deal with, such as financial development, the improvement of infrastructure and the advancement of education, which are fundamental to people’s well-being. These development depend on governmental fund. However, if there was no clean water to use, no fresh air to breathe and no edible food to eat, people would no longer survive. Therefore, states should allocate more budget to combating climate change.

Applying renewable resources is pivotal for each government since clean energy is the root cause of sustainable development. To start with, clean resources like wind power or solar power can produce less waste and pollution during the process of generating energy. This means underwater or soil would not be polluted, thereby reducing the chances of getting diseases related to food or water contamination. Moreover, money spent on pollution treatment could be immense, exceeding significantly the cost spent on pollution control. For example, during the process of energy production, used chemical ingredients or wastes may be dumped into waters, which would put the creatures in waters at risk. Reversing the detrimental impact acquires a huge amount of money to clean the waters and protect fish species. Besides, the damage to human health is unimaginable. Furthermore, subsidizing sustainable resources can boost improvements in other fields in terms of technology and finance. Because only with the advancement of technologies associated with clean sources, the alternative sources can be developed. Meanwhile, exchanging ideas and intelligence among countries could promote the business trade.

In conclusion, offering financial support from governments to renewable sources could have long-lasting benefits. I believe that could be the best way to combat climate change.