Today, food travels thousands of miles from farms to consumers. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh disadvantages?

Presently, a greater proportion of food consumed by the public are transported from farms that are several miles away. A lot of people propose that patronizing local farmers has a huge impact on the local economy instead of transporting them from far distances. I believe that procurement of locally-grown food presents more benefits such as an eco-friendly environment when compared to its potential drawbacks.

Purchasing farm produce from local farmers supports indigenous businesses which has a huge impact on generated revenue and makes food more affordable to people. The local circulation of funds fosters more investments and job creation that improve overall standard of living of the public. In addition, food is consumed in its fresh state when grown locally which positively affects health. For example, perishable goods like tomatoes have the potential to grow fungi when transported under adverse conditions, over long distances. The consumption of such compromised tomatoes even when cooked, results in food poisoning. Moreover, combustion of fossil fuels used in transportation reduces drastically, ameliorating the negative effects of air pollution and carbon emission.

Although buying locally produced food has more benefits, there can be disadvantages when executed poorly. Localities that do not possess adequate workforce needed to match the surge in demand, run the risk of food scarcity and inflation. Furthermore, the weather in some geographical locations does not support the growth of certain food produces, which makes them rely heavily on importation. The people in such areas run the risk of malnutrition and deficiency in essential minerals if they stick strictly to local produces. For instance, in Nigeria, different berries like strawberries and blueberries grow only in the northern region due to favorable climatic conditions. The southern region depends heavily on the north if they must consume these nutrient-of dense fruits.

In conclusion, sourcing locally grown food encourages farm work, strengthens the locally generated revenue and encourages an eco-friendly environment. These advantages significantly outweigh any potential drawbacks that may arise from prioritizing localized agriculture. Therefore, the local council may consider implementing this strategy to harness its numerous benefits.