Today, food travels thousands of miles from farms to consumers. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh disadvantages?

As the competition between countries has become a controversial problem around the world, an increasing number of countries put more emphasis on local production. Some believe that eating local food can be beneficial for the economy and environment rather than food imported from other countries. In my opinion, eating local food has more benefits than foreign food for some reasons.

One benefit is that eating food produced in a country can contribute to an increase of sustainability. This is because the demand for such food becomes higher as the number of people who choose eating domestic food, resulting in an increase of farmer’s incomes. This fact may attract more people to become farmers and increase the number of farmers. Along with the changes, the amount of food supply can surpass the domestic demand, eventually increasing in sustainability. Although relying heavily on domestic food might cause unstable food supply in a harsh circumstance, dependancy is a crucial factor for countries in economic growth.

Another positive impact is decreasing the amount of CO2 emission, meaning to help the climate change. If a country can feed their own residents with food made in that country, the demand for tankers and ships, which are usually used to import food from other countries, might decrease. This can play a key role in solving climate change because the CO2 emission from transportation is one of the contributing factor of climate change.

In conclusion, both importing food from other countries and eating domestically produced food have their own benefits and drawbacks. I personally think that advantages of eating local food have more benefits than imported food.