Today, food travels thousands of miles from farms to consumers. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh disadvantages?

in the era of modernization, many companies are enthusiastic about exporting their products globally and edible items is no exception. some people opine that eating locally produced crops should prioritize over Imported ones because it has positive effects on both economy and environment. in my perspective, it is more likely to cause problems rather than solve issues.

on the one hand, it is the backbone of rural economy. when farmers are sure about their sustainable source of income, they are less likely to migrate from rural areas to city centers and prefer to work on their farmlands. for example, the residents of northern part of my country, Iran, are striving a lot with the aim of cultivating organic fruits, vegetables, rice and so on. this can lead to gaining more tourists and income annually.

on the other hand, unemployment is the number one concern for some who are working in international food trade and logistics. by relying on this approach, these types of jobs will be eliminated which will result in socioeconomic issues.

Moreover, due to water crisis, climate change and weather condition some regions are not suitable for agriculture. therefore, it can cause food scarcity. for instance, some African countries are suffering from lack of precipitation and many of their residents developed physical problems like lack of vitamins or malnutrition.

in conclusion, although supporting farmers and encouraging them to cultivating fresh and healthy items is really crucial, limiting food imports can pose a threat to millions of occupations in global exporting. Therefore, it is important to make a balance between regional and imported products.