Today food travels to from thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Some people say that it would be more better for the economy and environment if people ate food produced from local farmers. Would the advantages of this idea outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been said that nowadays, food consumers collect food from farms located far away. Although some people believe that it would be a better choice to collect food from local farmers, and that it would be beneficial to the economy and environment, I totally oppose this method for these important reasons: many types of food are produced in different places, and some poor countries may produce food that is essential for immigrant peoples. In the following paragraphs, I discuss my rationale and the reasons for my choice.

A crucial reason for the drawback of this idea is that many types of food are produced in different places. The world is diverse, and different countries produce different types of food. When a person needs to eat a particular food, he or she may purchase it from various sites. For example, in my nation, there is much jackfruit that is not found on any other continent. That is why some companies export that fruit from Bangladesh to Europe.

Another reason for the disadvantage of this idea is that it is essential for immigrant peoples. Many people live abroad for various purposes. They may collect their own countries’ food from far away. For instance, in my country, we are keen to eat dried fish. If I were to go to Europe, I would have no worry about consuming this fish because it should be available.

In conclusion, I want to convey that I fully oppose the idea of only local food production. Although it has advantages, they do not invalidate my above-mentioned reasons. Both are logically correct, but the advantages of this idea would not outweigh the disadvantages.