Today, it is very common to have people from two different generations mix in the same workplace. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this situation?

Nowadays it is not rare to see people from various age groups working in the same workplace. There are both advantages and disadvantages of this phenomena, as working with different generations might be comfortable or challenging in some cases.

Mixing different generations in one workplace allows employees to gain experience from those who are older than them. In particular, it allows university graduates to adapt to the working process faster and comprehend new tasks while working. For instance, if a new graduate works together with an older person, this person might share their knowledge and correct the mistakes because they have worked longer in this field. Moreover, different generations working in one place allows the employer to have a good final outcome. For example, the younger generation can create new ideas to promote the work of the business, while the older generation can be responsible for fulfilling the ideas as they have more expertise in it.

However, this tendency may potentially result in adverse effects. Different generations often have dissimilar perspectives which sometimes lead to huge arguments. To illustrate this, if young people suggest a risky but trending idea, mature individuals might decline it due to their own preferences. Not only does it lead to controversies, but it also slows down the working process. Furthermore, the older generation tends to have more stereotypical thinking about the younger adults. Aged people might refer to the immaturity of the young employees, thus limiting them in actions. Sometimes this might even lead to social pressures in work and poor career advancement for the young workers.

To conclude, it is common for workers from different generations to be put in one workplace. There are some benefits, including earning experience from older people and good results from teamwork. Nonetheless, disadvantages are also present as different generations usually have different opinions along with the rooted stereotypes among elder workers.