Today many people work until later age. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, people are becoming workaholics. Working in old age is becoming more common. I think the pros that come with that are far greater than the cons. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons behind my statement along with examples.

Firstly, being employed or self-employed even in the later period of life keeps a person active in both physical and mental aspects. Because if an individual decides not to work in his 60s or above, it will affect his mental health and can cause depression. Moreover, depression, being called the root of many other diseases, will increase the prevalence of other medical conditions in that person and therefore will act as an additional factor to syndromes that come with aging. For instance, research shows that 88% of the total old-age population in Pakistan has mental and physical issues after retiring.

Secondly, in a third-world country, there is massive inflation, and without maximum earners, it is not possible for any household to run smoothly. To keep up with that inertia, they are ought to work even in later age, and hence to make the wheel of life operate balanced and to cope with inflation. For example, Afghanistan can be taken as an example; a majority of the old-age people are doing different and tough jobs to run their families.

On the other hand, it also has some disadvantages, including frustration, anger issues, and poor health because of getting no time for rest. Working throughout their lives, old age is something when a person has not enough energy, and it cannot be regained through any source. Hence, it can cause some chronic health conditions.

In conclusion, there are several other benefits of working as a senior citizen, and they undoubtedly outweigh the disadvantages.