Today many people work until later age. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In many parts of the world, people are still working after retirement age. Some argue that continuing to work, and therefore not being a financial burden on family members or society, is good, while others believe it would be better for the elderly to enjoy their golden years and make way for younger workers. In my opinion, there are more advantages than disadvantages to working into old age.

Longer working lives bring benefits for both individuals and wider society. For the workers themselves, the most obvious benefit is that they stay physically and mentally active while, at the same time, earning money that makes them financially stable or at least much less of a burden on their family or the government. Besides that, the knowledge, skills, and experience they have accumulated can be shared with younger colleagues. At third point in favour concerns countries with falling birth rates, leading to potential labour shortages. In Japan, for example, a sizeable proportion of the workforce is aged over 65. If this age group is employed, productivity levels can be maintained.

On the other hand, it also has some disadvantages, including frustration, anger issues, and poor health because of getting no time for rest. Working throughout their lives, old age is something when a person has not enough energy, and it cannot be regained through any source. Hence, it can cause some chronic health conditions.

People are living longer, and increasing numbers remain employed well beyond retirement age. Although there are downsides to this trend, I believe that they are outweighed by the advantages to both the individual and society.