Too many young people and too many old don't exercise enough. What is causing this and what can be done to change this?

In Great Britain we have seen a rising increase in obesity levels in two key demographic groups. The two main demographic groups causing concern are the older and younger populations. It is felt a key factor behind this alarming increase in people who are obese in these two demographic groups is thought to be a lack of exercise.

One factor behind the decrease in young people not exercising enough is the lack of green space in our cities and towns. During the Thatcher period many school playing fields were sold off to raise money for public funds. The impact of lost playing fields is now being felt, with many young children struggling for space to run free and exercise in their spare time.

A second factor is a significant increase in the time being spent by using digital technologies. In decades gone past, many people socialised at sports clubs such as recreational sports clubs. However, there has been significant change in how young people socialise, with a move away from face to face social meetings. These face to face in person meetings have slowly been replaced with a more sedentary lifestyle whereby social interactions are increasingly taking place online.