Topic 3 : The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In this contemporary era, there is a prevailing belief that the most effective way to enhance understanding of cooperation between children is through team sports at school. While this strategy may be reasonable to some extent, I am more inclined to believe that other activities also improve this skill as well.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some advocate the vital role of team sports in improving teamwork at school. The reason behind this is that team activities demand the participation of individuals, every teammate has different abilities, which could support other people in the group to reach their goals. Additionally, through these activities, children could understand the importance of collaboration, and prioritize the group benefits over their personal ones, which can lead to a sense of responsibility and build up strong relationships between them.

On the other hand, there are valid concerns that teamwork could be harnessed through other forms such as school lessons or in social life. This is primarily attributed to certain subjects in class time requiring the engagement of a group of students, not individuals, meaning that they need to collaborate with others to solve problems and offer solutions in some circumstances, which might seem difficult for an individual to deal with. With these lessons, they learn how to communicate with each other and improve their ability to manage conflicts, hence, fostering positive and useful interactions. Furthermore, these skills might be nurtured through social life, many voluntary activities prioritize the participation of a group of people to achieve a shared goal or outcome effectively.

In conclusion, while it is justifiable that team sports have made a significant contribution to cooperation, we should not underestimate the potential benefits of such activities like class lessons and social life.