Topic In many countries large amounts of food are wasted. Why do you think people waste food in this way? what can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away?

Food is a very important aspect of our lives , we cannot function without it and it is included among the basic needs of life, the others include: clothing and shelter. This is why it is ever baffling when we consider the amount of food wasted daily , in a world where food is soo important why is it wasted?

first of all the most important issue to consider is work and the lack of time we lack for ourselves, work takes up a huge part of our daily lives and it generally leads to food wastage, people tend to eat in a hurry, often not finishing their food and sometimes neglecting to eat already prepared food altogether. We all remember the story of the great Isaac Newton who worked soo hard he forgot his meal!

Another reason for wastage of food is over cooking of food, most families tend to cook more than the family needs to compensate for voracious eaters and this leads to uneaten food. Big families often than not encounter this problem , apart from big eaters there are also picky and selective eaters in the family who neglect meals not cooked exactly the way they want it. this often than not leads to wastage of food.

“Love your neighbour as yourself” this old saying might just be the solution we need , we need to inculcate this idea in our daily lives by giving away left over food to our neighbours and the less privileged people among us. This will greatly reduce the amount of food thrown away and also bring smiles to faces of people around us.