Topic In many countries large amounts of food are wasted. Why do you think people waste food in this way? what can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away?

It is true that a large percentage of food is being wasted in many nations around the world. While a number of reasons are responsible for this issue, some effective measures can be taken to address it.

A wide range of reasons exist for food waste. One possible reason is that people buy more food than they need which leads to food waste. By wasting food, they are polluting the environment. Another reason is that many restaurants often make excessive food not realizing that they are wasting food and, they are not eager to give this food to the poorer sector. Additionally, when shops offer discounts, people tend to buy food at a lower price, which they keep in the refrigerator and it leads to spoil food. Finally, Poor infrastructure and transportation methods cause large quantities of food to rot before reaching consumers.

Food waste can certainly be solved. To begin with, if people buy the amount of food they need, it might reduce food waste. For instance, governments can raise awareness among people by showing the proper ways to store food. Furthermore, awareness campaigns can help people realize the environmental and economical impacts of food waste. Moreover, supermarkets can reduce waste by donating unsold food to charities, rather than discarding it.

In conclusion, food waste will continue to be a problem unless people takes responsibility widely. By raising awareness and improving food handling processes, this issue can be mitigated. Addressing food waste will not only save money but also help reuduce the environmental impact of unnecessary food production and disposal.