Topic: In today's world, people spend a lot of money on appearance because they want to look younger.[1] Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? [2] Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today’s consumption trends have seen money increasingly spent on people’s looks. This phenomenon is so prevalent that it can be found across many age groups. I personally believe this is somewhat overdone.

Beneath the motivation to look younger lie two forces. One is cultural. Mass media is awash with celebrities who look glamorous and chic, and they are usually the most appearance-conscious type. This has a great impact on how the public think about and approach fashion and personal care. Moreover, most people these days are obsessed with social media apps such as Instagram and TikTok, which means they are constantly exposed to others, fuelling the desire to seek a more youthful look.

The other is psychological. Thanks to technological and medical advances, people are living longer and more fulfilling lives. As the average person will be retiring later than the previous generation, looking younger at work is desirable. Much as having a tan, a rejuvenating look is usually linked to health awareness, charisma, and vitality, all signs of success. It is only natural that people can work productively when they feel great about themselves.

Although it seems the looking-younger mentality has gained a foothold in popular culture, two caveats deserve our attention. For one thing, character and maturity matter more than appearance. Being overly concerned about one’s looks can be causes for self-doubt and anxiety, already a challenge facing some people, the young in particular. For another, obsession with physical appearance can result in overconsumption. In pursuit of fighting aging, people are allocating a significant amount of budget to care programs, from facial care to plastic surgery, which can be exorbitant.

In a nutshell, while there is nothing wrong with the desire to restore a youthful appearance, people should be doing so responsibly and wisely.