Topic: Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is it? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

These days, green energy tends to be more and more popular in human modern society. However, I hold a firm belief that this trend would bring both benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, people can take huge advantages from using green energy. The first salient benefit is that using green energy can help protect the environment. In other words, green energy sources such as solar, wind, and hydroelectric power do not emit much carbon dioxide into the atmosphere like fossil fuel energy. Therefore, they can help reduce greenhouse gases and global warming. An added advantage is that using renewable energy can help people save money in the long run. For example, when people install solar panels on their houses, those panels can generate electricity for daily use. This allows people to cut costs on electricity bills.

On the other hand, there are several obvious disadvantages of green energy. The first biggest problem is that using renewable energy can be costly at first. In fact, in order to install green energy generators such as wind turbines or solar panels, people have to pay a lot of money for hardware and installation labor. This can be unaffordable for low-income households. Another negative aspect is that using green energy can require a lot of space and is not suitable in some areas. For instance, it is difficult to install wind turbines in densely populated areas because there is not enough space.

To sum up, there are both benefits and drawbacks to using green energy. I hold a firm belief that human beings had better learn how to maximize the benefits as well as minimize the drawbacks of this trend.