Topic: Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is it? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Nowadays, electricity is one of the main factors in human life since people have already become dependent on technology. Many people are turning to solar power as it becomes a more viable and affordable energy solution. Although it has numerous drawbacks like high installation costs, it provides significant benefits including better air quality and economic growth.

There are two principal reasons behind the option of using solar power. Firstly, solar energy is an environmentally friendly and inexhaustible source of power, meaning no matter how people use it or how long they harness it, it remains stable. Solar energy produces no greenhouse gas emissions or other pollutants. What is more, the Sun continues to shine for billions of years. Furthermore, solar power is also economically advantageous for both citizens and governments. Regardless of the prohibitive cost of installing ‘solar farms’, over time its profits appear in the form of reduced long-term energy bills. In addition to these advantages, compared to other types of energy sources, producing solar energy requires low maintenance. Wind, hydroelectric power, or burning fossil fuels have several parts that should be replaced constantly and are not durable. Moreover, these factories necessitate manual labor, which comes at high costs.

Conversely, its main disadvantage is the exorbitant cost of construction. For example, in my country, only a limited number of people afford it. Additionally, if some accidents like storms occur, everything needs to be redone, leading back to the initial problem: the high installation costs. Another problem is a lack of suitable locations for solar panels. In previous times, when solar power was first introduced, there were a lot of spare areas to implement panels. Due to urbanization encroaching on open spaces such as deserts, building large and profitable solar farms becomes a difficult task.

In conclusion, in spite of bearing the high cost of implementation, the advantages of solar power outweigh this drawback. From my point of view, governments should give subsidies for solar panels, and implement laws to restrict other types of power generation which produce gas emissions and pollutants.