Topic: Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is it? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

In today’s rapidly evolving world, change has become a fundamental aspect of life. Whether driven by technological advancements, shifting social norms, or global challenges, these changes influence every corner of our lives. One such major change is the sudden increase in the usage of solar energy, with solar energy garnering immense popularity as a source of household energy throughout the world. From my perspective, the advantages of solar energy are significantly better than its drawbacks.

Earlier fossil fuels were used as the primary source of energy. However, with the rapid globalisation, soon it became evident that fossil fuels being non-renewable resources would not be able to suffice for the entire generation. Thus, it became essential to search for a resource which would be able to suffice the entire generation. Solar energy being a renewable and non-exhaustible resource proves to be the ideal solution for this. Subsequently, since this form of energy is dependent on sunlight, it is a completely clean form of energy, producing almost no pollution. Being eco-friendly it proves to be a much safer option for Earth.

Admittedly, initially, it can be much more expensive to get the solar panels installed. However, in the long run, it proves to be a great investment. Moreover, it may require constant maintenance which can be difficult to manage. It may not be as reliable as the current sources of energy, since it depends on sunlight. In places where sunlight is not as abundant, may find it difficult to find solar energy as a dependable source of energy, thus it is not universally acceptable.

Despite having some drawbacks, in my opinion, solar energy still has more advantages. Hence solar energy can be a replacement for fossil fuels and is much more beneficial and cleaner for the environment.