Topic: Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is it? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

In many nations, solar energy is actively replacing other sources of electricity. This is because it provides relative convenience to its users as it is portable and can sustain itself, not depending from the power plant. Nevertheless, such a technology has its drawbacks, such as the price of installation and dependance on weather conditions.

The popularity of solar energy is rising due to its portability as it can be placed in remote places, which would not have electicity if this technology did not exist. Many people in the country prefer this source of energy due to overall ease in its use as it does not require additional maintenance after its installation. For example, in California, many farmers have installed solar energy because California’s climate is suited perfectly for this technology. Another advantage of this technology is ecological friendliness due to the usage of renewable energy, which does not harm the environment of the country in any way. A recent study was conducted, which proved that new technologies concerning solar energy are fully safe for the environment.

However, the major disadvantage is the cost of installation, where many individuals cannot afford it. This is because materials for the manufacturing process are very expensive and only a couple of countries provide required details. Secondly, it is extremely dependent on climate conditions as it cannot work without an access to the sun. As a result, many countries with tropical or extremely cold climates are not interested in developing and installing. For example, Nordic nations, like Sweden, Norway and Finland, are not fully involved in developing this in any way.

In conclusion, although solar energy has many disadvantages, like the price and the dependance on the environment, it is rising in popularity as it is eco-friendly and provides ease in its use.