Topic: Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is it? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

There is no doubt that solar panel usage to produce energy, which is consumed bu houses, is growing day by day. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks that have resulted from producing electricity from sunlight and why the usage of solar energy has increased in recent decade.

To begin with why solar energy is becoming popular, a significant reason is increasing fuel prices. This is a vital concern of many countries all over the world, especially developing and undeveloped countries. This is because their production of electricity relies on fossil fuels, which is usually the most major cause of high inflation. This is why many countries are trying to provide their citizens with low-price electricity by using solar panels.

However, solar panels also presents some disadvantages, the most obvious of which is that the production of solar panels is not environmental friendly. Despite the fact that many people think that solar energy is the cleanest way to generate electricity, solar panels are produced by factories which emits carbondioxide into the atmosphere. To make matter worse, the production of those panels are usually carried out in undeveloped regions by many developed countries. Furthermore, solar energy is not cheap enough for undeveloped countries.

Despite these disadvantages, the use of solar panels reduces countries’ dependence on foreign energy. Those countries which need to produce energy import fossil fuels from other countries. If they were able to produce solar panels and builded a solar power plant, they would not need to buy fossil fuels from other countries. Moreover, use of solar panels also lead a decrease in energy prices. For example, research reveals that electricity prices decreased in Turkey after the government builded solar energy systems.

In conculusion, although solar panels are beneficial in terms of helping countries to decrease their inflation, it is important to consider that they also detrimental for the environment although they are not as bad as other methods. .