Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does it bring more advantages or disadvantages to the country?

Tourism has always been a popular trend among people of diverse nationalities. It also comes with numerous benefits and downsides that need to be taken into consideration.

Regarding the positive impacts tourists have on a country, firstly, tourism can improve local revenue since people love spending currency while travelling. Locals have the chance to sell a variety of souvenirs such as local cuisine, traditional clothes and handicrafts. Another major upside of tourism would be spreading a country’s values and core beliefs among other cultures; this helps people get acquainted and, eventually, relate to a country’s culture and be more keen on it.

On the other hand, excessive tourism might come with a number of negative points as well. First and foremost, the damage caused to the environment is not one to be ignored; the construction of too many recreational centers, tourist attractions and human-made sights will lead to detrimental environmental issues such as deforestation, pollution resulting from different machinery utilized to build these facilities and also the destruction of natural habitats. In addition, it will most probably contribute to the destruction of natural habitats of animals and plants. By making use of a variety of toxic materials and harmful tools, the soil, animals and plants stand no chance against their demise and will result in different species’ endangerment.

Overall, the profits of tourism outweigh its disadvantages. However, this fact is not adequate to underestimate its immensely destructive negative points and both the government and people need to play their part in minimizing its negative affect.