Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does it bring more advantages or disadvantages to the country?

Tourism has always been a popular trend among people of diverse nationalities. Also, it comes with numerous benefits and downsides that need to be taken into consideration.

Regarding the positive impacts tourists have on a country, firstly, tourism can improve the local revenue since people love spending money while travelling. The locals have the chance to sell a variety of souvenirs such as local cuisine, traditional clothes and handicrafts. Another major upside of tourism would be spreading a country’s values and core beliefs among other cultures; this helps people get acquainted and, eventually, relate to a country’s culture and be more keen on it.

On the other hand, excessive tourism could come with a number of negative points as well. First and foremost, the damage caused upon the environment is not one to be turned a blind eye on; the construction of too many recreational centers, tourist attractions and human-made sights will lead to detrimental environmental issues such as, deforestation, pollution resulting from different machinary utilized to build these facilities and also the destruction of natural habitats.

All-in-all, the profits of tourism outweigh the disadvantages. However, this fact is not adequate to underestimates its immensely destructive negative points.