Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does it bring more advantages or disadvantages to the country?

Tourism has become a great way in many countries to generate revenue and has been promoted by them. But it also has immense dangers for tourists who decide to go to risky parts of the world. This essay will describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism.

Firstly, the biggest reason countries encourage tourism is the revenue. Many countries immensely depend on the revenue that comes from travelers going to tourist-friendly places and buying souvenirs such as the Egyptian pyramids. Moreover, to service those tourists, countries must create jobs for them, thus increasing jobs in the job market and helping strengthen the local economy. Lastly, tourism also directly benefits tourists by enabling them to learn about the culture of the country they are visiting, hence increasing their knowledge of different cultures. These are the reasons that countries should keep encouraging tourists.

On the other hand, there are some demerits that should be considered by countries. First of all, the potential diseases that tourists could carry from their home countries could infect the host country. Moreover, travelers tend to pollute and litter in the country, therefore increasing the country’s contamination level. And lastly, the locals of the country may show negative attitudes toward tourists, making the country seem like a bad tourist destination. These are the reasons that make tourism a questionable investment for some countries.

In conclusion, tourism may seem like a good thing that helps a country financially, but it does carry its demerits, of which countries should be aware while promoting tourism. But, in my opinion, the advantages clearly outweigh the disadvantages, and countries should always try to encourage tourism.