Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In current society, opinions greatly diverge on how tourism can contribute several benefits or drawbacks to the local culture and the environment. From my perspective, the upsides of tourism can outweigh its shortcomings or bad effects.

On the one hand, the reason the amount of tourism should be controlled is because it can have detrimental effects on local cultures and the environment. For example, tourists leave garbage in the attractions during excursions to tourist areas, which is too much for the local people to control. Local places would be polluted, and the animals’s habitats could be destroyed by tourists when visiting. However, I consider that the number of tourists needs to be reduced.

On the flip side, tourism is one of the major factors that contributes a sizeable volume of finance to local areas, as many visitors used to bring currency or cash with them when they traveled to another country. Furthermore, it creates tremendous opportunities for jobs. In many places, travel is the main income factor in the local economy, which also thrives for local businesses. Such as hotels, restaurants, and souvenir shops. However, if there is a plunge in the number of visitors, people will lose their jobs, like interpreters or those who work on guided tours.

In conclusion, it seems to me that, although travelers have some drawbacks to the environment, I believe they also have some solutions to the economy of a country and a lack of profession in some areas. If the government can limit the number of tourists, it will be beneficial to the environment.