Traffic congestion is becoming increasingly problematic in larg cities. What solution can you suggest to help solve this problem

Major cities around the world are beset by a similar problem: traffic congestion. From Shanghai to New York, key cities in most developing or developed countries are tackling congested roads and all the negative consequences that this brings. Finding answers is an ongoing issue.

One key solution for the problem is public transport. In many places this is not convenient and too expensive which means that people still prefer to take their own cars rather than travel by bus, train or underground. Reducing the cost of public transport and checking that it works smoothly, for example by ensuring that buses link to key train stations and running late enough each day will entice people back onto public transport systems. Ensuring that this transport has proper staffing, in other words having ticket inspectors and staff at stations, will also help as people will feel safer. This would, for example, allow women travelling alone late at night to still feel secure.

Another way to persuade people to leave their cars at home is by increasing taxes on driving. Charging tax on parking and petrol could bring in more revenue to fund better roads or support other types of transport. For example, higher road tax could fund cycling paths within cities.

However, making travel by private car more difficult is only viable if reliable and affordable alternatives are in place. Another measure which could help to develop more ‘park and ride’ schemes where people can park free at the edge of the city and catch a bus into the centre. There should also be more cycle paths available.

By having better alternatives in place and making them more attractive than using private cars, it may be possible to reduce the increasing problems with traffic congestion that modern cities face.