‘Unemployment remains the biggest challenge to school-leavers in most countries’ How far do you agree with this assessment? What other challenges face young people today?

Despite the various advancements in career fields, most of the youths, especially the school-leavers, are experiencing an increasing rate of joblessness nowadays. I believe that unemployment is one of the major problems that hinders the development of a country, and there are also certain critical issues that need to be tackled urgently.

In this fast-paced and competitive world, not only the school-leavers but also some college graduates are having difficulties to find job opportunities. Lately, when it comes to employment, numerous companies put burdening expectations on the youngsters and ask for stricter necessities, compared to previous decades. Only the people who have dedicated and invested time and efforts into the profession that they want to pursue can obtain a position.

Another imperative reason is the limitedness of career options and job opportunities based on geographical locations. People from underserved regions, especially the countryside communities, have a narrower range of career options to choose compared to those in urban centers. Moreover, they have to travel long distances to access resources and get employed, which costs them inconvenience and expenses.

Some of the other prevalent issues that most young people are combating with include not getting adequate provisions, and variations in the level of education quality they receieved. There are a number of children who are talented and courageous in remote areas, but because of the weakness of the families’ financial situation, they do not get the opportunity to pursue their interests and passions, and choose the pathaways which is more affordable, but with less employment rate.

Wrapping up, unemployment is a very prevalent and incessant problem that needs to be overcome with cooperative effort for the future generations. Moreover, the governments and the authorities should put concerted effort into provisions and contributions to the underprivileged civilians.