‘Unemployment remains the biggest challenge to school-leavers in most countries’ How far do you agree with this assessment? What other challenges face young people today?

In this day and age, many individuals are of the perception that one of the persisting dilemmas which graduates in a myriad of countries have to encounter is unemployment. Personally, I attest with this assessment deduced from the following rationales, together with other challenges facing young people nowadays, in this essay.

Apparently, we are being displayed with a substantial upward trajectory in the number of applicants. This can be put down to the prominence and attractiveness of each occupation to certain applicants, in the presence of its welfare as well as salary. However, despite there being a plethora of companies specializing in particular jobs, the limitation of slots for positions is regarded as the main obstacle for everyone. Hence giving rise to a dog-eat-dog competition between people and people, not least the youths, who have the aspiration for getting their dream job. Unfortunately, those being endowed with a weak foundation of skills and knowledge struggle will have a low chance of admission into the companies. An epitome of this is the IT industry, where postulates in order to become one of the nominees for being selected.

Moreover, in order to stabilize the economic background, both small and big companies gravitate towards recruiting those who are prodigious enough to come up with the proper initiatives for coping with the financial burdens. Therefore, the process of recruitment of those firms is always deemed extreme, by means of the qualification refinement and the aptitude test that determine who fulfills the requirement and who to be rejected. There is a standout example

Beside unemployment, the youths are facing other problems. In the status quo, young people tend to be under pressure when it comes to salary, “How much do you earn?”, or marital issues “When will you get married?”, are the commonplace questions. If those inquiries constantly repeat, it can send young people into depression or being isolated from intimate relationships.

In the light of those facts discussed, I still maintain my stance over the sentiment that for school-leavers in most countries, unemployment continues to be the biggest challenge. Furthermore, there are many other dilemmas that await young people ahead.