‘Unemployment remains the biggest challenge to school-leavers in most countries’ How far do you agree with this assessment? What other challenges face young people today?

There are some crucial points that directly affect the economy of each country whether it is prosperous or low scale one – along with GDP rate the unemployment issue come first. Unfortunately, nearly a half of young population on our planet face serious challenges due to the fact they have to leave school and are forced to work. However, I tend to believe that it cannot be accepted as the greatest struggle for school-leavers. Why?

First of all, although a definite group of the above mentioned youth usually has no way apart from leaving school, the majority of them decide to stop education intentionally in order to grow an income of their families. For example, in India and Bangladesh we see decent state schools which are free of charge but empty, since pupils find the earning of money more pleasurable than reading books.

Secondly, when we list the problems among school-leavers health issues and subsequently short life expectancy take leading positions. As teenagers give up schools, they are actually hired for heavy works where not only some infectious diseases can arise a real threat to their health, but also can shorten their life expectancy in the long term. Similar cases in some African countries where life expectancy is below 45 years can illustrate a good example for this argument.

Finally, no education means uncontrolled boost of unhealthy population who is not a good asset for country’s future. Statistics depict nations with low education rate prone to have more children who mostly just repeat the fate of their predescors. Therefore, it seems more than just unemployment that could be great challenges on pave of healthy, educated as well as happy nation construction.