Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a 'fat tax' is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Obesity caused by bad eating habits may lead to unfavorable effects on both individuals and the society in which they live. Creating a tax to prevent unhealthy food consumption can be a wise solution to this problem but some people call it unfair and needless. This essay will go through whether this tax measures make sense or not.

Nowadays, the consumption of fast food is getting normalized and this has clear downsides in ourselves and society. For example in the United States of America the number of children in extreme obesity increases every single year which leads to many deaths by diabetes and heart problems of people under 18. Fast food is proven to be unhealthy and if eaten regularly can lead to many illnesses and, in my point of view, this should at least be taxed.

A key point is that eating unhealthy food can become addictive, so taxing this type of food that can cause blood diseases, obesity or even death is in fact a great way to make societies start eating healthy food and prevent any disease. Moreover, bad eating habits, usually make people fatter, creating a “fat tax” is a possible way to prevent those negative effects helping both individuals and society.

To conclude, it is clear for me that creating a “fat tax” is not only fair and necessary but also an intelligent move by the government because a population or a person with bad eating habits will face eventually a significant amount of health problems.