Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a 'fat tax' is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In fast-paced societies more and more individuals tend to adapt negative eating habits. The issue of enforcing taxes in unhealthy foods has sparked heated controversy, with some people maintaining that such a decision will be beneficial, while others claim that it is an unfair action. Personally, I support the former opinion, although the latter one has some positive attributes.

Firstly, it is often argued that implementing a “fat tax” will force individuals that don’t have the money to afford expensive products, to make healthier food choices. More specifically, they will have to buy more fruits and vegetables, which are, in fact, cheaper. Therefore, it is possible that obesity will decrease substantially and that people will change their routines by making healthier choices.

Another point in support of my opinion is that by implementing taxes in high-calorie snacks, the government will have the opportunity to reinvest the money collected for a good cause. In particular, politicians can use that amount of money to create campaigns about the negative aspects of consuming junk food. Moreover, they could also construct sport facilities, in order to further promote exercising and a balanced diet.

However, it would be ignorant not to acknowledge that people should have the freedom to choose their food. Admittedly they should have the ability to decide the kind of meals they want to consume and face their own consequences. Yet this is not entirely true since they will be able to still buy their favorite junk food, as it will still be on sale.

All things considered, even though it is claimed that individuals should be free to decide their food habits, this is not fully accurate. I firmly believe that taxes on unhealthy food is a one-way road in order for people to eat healthier.