Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a 'fat tax' is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is ongoing debate, surrounding the issue of unhealthy eating. It is widely debated that, whether government should tax unhealthy foods. This essay will examine both perspectives and give an opinion.

Firstly, unhealthy eating has negative outcomes on every individual and the society they live in. One notable disadvantage is health. Researches show that of people die out of food poisoning due to unbalanced diets.

Members of society who agrees on taxing foods lacking essential nutrients doesn’t think about poor people. Moreover not every citizen can afford healthy food due to this reason they are forced to eat junk food in their daily life.

Secondly, taxing ultra-processed food will mostly affect underprivileged individuals agreeing to taxing would destroy them. Therefore there may be advantages on taxing unhealthy food. For instance, our environment is collapsing over the period. There are many reasons to this problem. One viable solution would be to tax junk food. In my point of view I strongly disagree to taxing even though there are many concerns in our modern world, taxing nutritionally inadequate food would affect the population poorly. In conclusion there is a strong justification for the view that, taxing unhealthy food might be helpful for environment while it would affect the population bad.