University education should be free for everyone, regardless of income. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this era of globalization, education has become the basic necessity for human survival. Technological advancements has forced the greater part of human population to educate themselves so as to keep up with the rapid advancements. However, some people belives that the university education should be free for all students. I have a completely opposing view for this statement.

Although, education has become the basic necessity for human survival, university education should not be free for all students as this level of higer studies should only be reseved for talented and deserving candidates. Free university education for all students means lack of competition and inspiration among students to achive better in their academic career. Moreover, the natural tendency of a human being of not giving importance to something that is no hard earned is another major reason that opposses this view.

Economic viewpoint of this idea to make university education free of cost also does not make this stament feasible. Except a handful of government in this modern world, lionshare of the government do not have the capacity to provide education for free at university level. Higher studies at university level requires huge amount of funds to maintain quality education specially for STEM courses. If the authority has the responsibility to fulfil such a huge burden, then the economic burden on a nation would be unbearable as the most of the governments already faces a pressure to provide free education at primary and secondary level.

Nomatter how fascinating the idea to provide the free university education to all students sounds, this idea is not feasible considering the drawbacks of this idea. Rather than providing free university education to all university students, importance should be given to promote free education to the most desired and deserving talented candidates through scholarships.