Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has been a debate on whether or not letting your children use a computer daily has more negative effects than positive ones. A valid concern for any parent in a world where all information is readily accessible at the tip of their fingers.

As technology rapidly develops, the common masses gain more access to knowledge than ever before. Nearly everything can be found in the internet, without needing to leave your home, all inside a computer. Something that felt almost inconcievable decades before. Back then, the library is usually a reliable catalogue of information. However, even libraries are limited when it comes to what books they have in their shelves. The internet has no such restrictions.

Then why would parents make such a fuss about this? To answer that, it is time to look at the computer itself, and see what happens to those who spend too long in front of it. Staring at a bright screen for a long period of time does damage to the eyes. This is clearly bad for children especially, since they have more susceptible eyes compared to adults. If that was not convincing enough, the internet itself is full of bad things. If left unattended, a child can search a lot of things they were never supposed to find at such a young age, leading them into a rabbit hole. The youth tend to be influenced by anything easily, so it is important to keep an eye on them when they browse in the internet.

In conclusion, I agree. Children should not spend too much time in front of a computer every day. There are health problems and psychological issues at risk. The best course of action is to regulate and moderate the children’s usage on the machines, while not completely restricting them of the computer.