Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people think that the usage of computer systems by young children from an early age has more demerits than merits. I strongly disagree with this view and suggest that children should be provided with computers early in life as it offers innumerable benefits for them.

Evidently, computers are an invaluable resource to help young people to explore internet to satisfy their innate curiosity about diverse topics and thereby become independent learners. No child with a computer is ever bored. By starting early in their lives, they are also able to take advantage of the wide range of services that computer provides. Moreover, computer offers immense help in their studies and study-related activities. For instance, today a vast majority of university students bring their laptops to class to take notes, do research and exchange information. They write assignments, make presentations and develop projects using computers. Therefore, children who build confidence and expertise in these activities have a lot of advanatages than children who rarely use computers.

In addition, computer has found a permanent place in the workplace. Today employers still pay to provide computer training to their employees because most production processes require the use of computers. In this backdrop, parents who encourage their child to use the computer for a reasonable period of time daily, in fact, are investing in the child’s future career. For example, today one of the pre-requisites for a placement in any company, particularly in the IT related field, is computer literacy. Therefore, people who have computer proficiency which is the result of using computer systems eary, have added advantages in procurring a job than people who do not.

To cap the above-given arguments, it can be said that learning to use computers early in life offers several advantages; it enhances one’s studies, encourages self-exploration and boosts job opportunities. Therefore, I am of the view that learning to use computers from an early age by young children has more advantages than disadvantages.