Using animals to test the safety of cosmetics or drugs used for medical reasons is never acceptable. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is known that cosmetics and drugs must run through a set of tests before approving it for human use. Some argue that it is never acceptable to use animals for conducting this process. I believe that animals are the best practical candidates to conduct such tests and this essay will discuss why it should be encouraged to test medical products on animals.

Firstly, it is far more better to try newly designed medical products on animals than on people. Failures in this case will come at a lower price if it is experienced on animals. For instance, in the prototype phase, pharmaceutical manufacturers can not have a definitive expectation of the side effects that may arise from injecting a chemical substance to individuals. Therefore, it is logical to test it on rats for example rather than human to mitigate the risks.

Additionally, trying new chemical compounds on rabbits is not unheard of. Basically, scientists have been using different living organisms to test their hypothesis since a very long time and they became more experienced in terms of what to expect. For example, when testing a cure for cancer, it is known that the best candidate for the evaluation would be monkeys. This is due to the similarity of their physiological aspects to humans. It is crucial to stick to what we currently know about the reaction of different animals to different drugs.

To conclude, in my opinion, qualifying drugs using animals should be widely acceptable amongst the scientific community. This is simply because of the significantly lower risk as opposed to trying drugs on people. Moreover, it is not practical to drop what we already know about specific animal reactions to drugs for something that puts people in danger.