Video records are better to learn about the way other people in the world lives than written documents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that learning about the lifestyles of people worldwide through videos is more effective than through written records. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement.

It can not be denied that technology provides various methods to discover other countries’ cultures. Videos are one of the best ways to access information. Videos with background music and real images make it easier and more interesting to attract people’s attention, so they can understand and discover easily the cultures. Moreover, the Internet offers countless social media platforms such as YouTube, Facebook, and Instagram. We can find videos and images that many people share there, hence, we have visual insights into the cultures worldwide. As a result, not only do they make it more attractive, but they are also more convenient. Nonetheless, videos might not be a reliable resource. Some recordings on the Internet can not reflect accurately everything about the countries’s cultures and customs. A few people even edited them to be untrue.

On the other hand, reading newspapers, books, and magazines is also a brilliant way to learn about worldwide traditions and lifestyles. Written documents show the readers how people reside when there aren’t any cameras to film. Some scientific research has pointed out that reading is a better way to acquire knowledge. People will pay more attention to what they’re reading, consequently, it is an effective method to concentrate on more details in the writing. However, it takes more time to read and understand all the writing and people have to get information from many sources, so it will cause boredom to many individuals.

In conclusion, while video records undoubtedly offer convenience for learning about global cultures, written accounts can also provide detailed information on them. We should balance between using visual resources and trustworthy documents to discover more effectively and flexibly.