Violent TV-shows and aggressive video games should be banned on governmental level. Do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether or not the Government should ban violent TV shows and aggressive video games is a continuous one. While each side has its reasons, I mostly agree with the statement because violent shows and games might influence the behavior of an individual in a bad manner, and also banning them protects vulnerable populations.

Firstly, many people are attracted to watching shows and playing games. Exposure to violent content can lead to aggressive behavior and it might also lead to decrease empathy towards others. For instance, take a child who is under 18 and is interested in playing aggressive games that involve hurting people. The contents of the game might influence the child to hurt others without any reason. This might be viewed as a fun activity for him but in later life, it can also lead him to resort to crime that involves hurting people. Secondly, Banning violent content also protects vulnerable populations especially young children and adolescents who are susceptible to harmful content.

However, banning TV shows and games infringes upon individuals’ rights to make their own decisions. People should be given the freedom to watch the content that pleases them. In addition to that, parents should also be responsible for monitoring their children. They need to keep an eye on their children to the type of content that they are being exposed to.

In conclusion, the Government should ban violent television programs and games. Because, violent shows and games might influence the behavior of an individual in a bad manner, and also banning them protects the vulnerable populations. Due to these reasons, I mostly agree with the statement.