Violent TV-shows and aggressive video games should be banned on governmental level. Do you agree or disagree?

The validity of the view supporting the national blocking of all forcible visual content is an urgent issue. Underestimation of the implicit avail of awareness provided by violent video images is a worrying trend. I state blocking cruel content is not always an adequate decision as being beneficially used for therapeutic and educational purposes. However, some believe aggressive programs must be prohibited to diminish cases of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and to prevent destructive behavior.

On one side of the debate, opponents assert that vicious visual materials yield adverse effects on mental health and must be forbidden. The immersion in depictions of past traumas may contribute to a cycle of recidivism or even exacerbate existing conditions. Moreover, there is a precise risk of the formation of new impairments. For example, moderators on social networks and video platforms scrupulously check all the shared content, removing materials including violent scenes. Additionally, canceling forcible programs may hinder some of the instances of potentially dangerous ruinous actions. If the number of harmful incidents had not increased in the last decades, governmental concerns surrounding the escalating moral addiction to emerging technologies would not have reached such high levels. For instance, the Russian State Duma insisted that the mission “No Russian” in the videogame “Call of Duty” be banned, citing fears over extremist terrorist propagation in Russia.

On the other side, some, myself included, challenge the effectiveness of revoking cruel materials, as they are indispensable for understanding and diagnosing certain mental disorders. Besides, they serve as essential tools for raising awareness. To unveil hidden experiences and flashbacks of past traumatic events, it is imperative to return to them under the supervision of a specialist. Per my observation, based on this approach presenting excitatory stimuli and registering a deviation from the norm, the experiments on diagnostic purposes of PTSD are devised. Furthermore, recognizing the severity of possible violent events is vital. Being the cornerstone of personal security, possessing the knowledge to avoid such situations is disconcerting, especially for the younger generation. From my holistic perspective, an effective example of the use of these materials is the implementation of training courses in Russian schools focused on countering extremism.

Overall, while it is crucial to acknowledge the risks associated with the impact of violent materials on human consciousness, it is equally imperative not to overlook the benefits they offer for medical and educational purposes.