Water pollution has become an increasing problem over the past few decades. What causes water pollution? How can we prevent this problem?

For the past few decades, the degradation of water quality has risen into a critical environmental problem. Water pollution is mainly caused by plastic trash and oil, which leads to severe damage to marine life and human health.

Plastic trash and oil are the main causes of water pollution. Firstly, instead of taking all rubbish to islands, governments should recycle all types of trash, especially plastics. During recent years, instead of using sustainable products, people have utilized more and more plastics, and trash has gathered like a mountain. So, governments decided to take all of it to islands where human never lived and would not live. On the way to the islands, ships spilled more trash into the sea due to the massive amounts. Also, there are more factories, which produce oil, that spill their unused oils or liquids into the rivers and damage the water quality.

Spreading new types of illnesses and damaging sea animals are the main effects of water contamination. In the last decades, many types of illnesses have spread rapidly from ocean, such as COVID-19. The main reason was that people, who were infected with viruses, used products and threw rubbish into the lakes or rivers. Because of this, viruses dispersed sharply. Also, it damaged marine life. Every year, explorer find plastic inside sea species, and animals die from plastic. Trash not only harms sea species, it also makes them unfit to eat.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the main reasons for water contamination, including plastic debris and spilled liquids, as well as effects including the spread of illness and dead sea animals.