We are becoming increasingly dependent on computers. They are used in business, hospitals, crime detection and even to fly planes. What things would they be used in the future? Is this dependence a good thing or should we be more suspicious of their benefits.

Ever since the invention of computers, almost all task and activities in various sector of the world’s economy utilizes this machine which could lead to dependence. But what is more terrifying are the future uses of computers and I strongly disagree with this development.

Certainly, computers make work easier, faster and less stressful. They are also helpful in producing more effective results and achieving efficiency. They are used in hospitals in checking vital signs of patients, in business places, they are useful in imputing and analysing data and most recent improvement is their usage in flying planes.

While these seem to be very beneficial to humanity, it would in no doubt cause certain kind of problems. Firstly, the duties and responsibilities of an employee in a work place could be taken over by robots. Thus reducing the need for staff at work which could ultimately lead to unemployment and an increase in crime rate. Secondly, the human brain would not be utilized to it’s maximum potential as people would become completely dependent on machines in achieving any task, they would not exercise their breins through thinking, studying and reading. Lastly, computers may do the work faster and more effectively but they are not totally void of errors. For example, in a hospital where patients have to check their blood pressure measurement and the machine gives a much higher reading than what it actually is, this could be very detrimental to the health of the patient because the doctors may have prescribed and unnecessary drug.

In conclusion, the benefits of computers cannot be overemphasized. But caution should be taken so that we do not become entirely dependent on them for every activity.