We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

It is often argued that we should just be concerned with our own community’s progress instead of giving a hand to other nations in need. I personally disagree with this statement. I believe that we must help whenever possible for the political benefits and the possibility of receiving aid in return.

On the one hand, helping other countries can be useful geopolitically. Furthermore, every region experiences a decline at some point. Offering aid can improve political relationships and promote peaceful societies. This ensures a fruitful geopolitical link needed during international negotiations. For example, after Sri Lanka had declared bankruptcy in 2006, India became an ally and supported their economy with food and financing. This empowered Sri Lanka and promoted harmony between this two neighbouring nations.

On the other hand, assisting other parts of the world is crucial for our own development. Such countries will offer assistance in times of need, thus accelerating the capacity of resilience of a country after a disaster. For instance, during the 2015 economic crisis, the United States of America invested billions of dollars into the Indian economy that was tremendously failing. This gesture was made in response to the Indian government’s assistance through the 2000s subprimes crisis. Therefore, nations tend to provide help when they have received support in the past.

To conclude, to ensure success for our nation, it is undeniably necessary to guide and support other population during difficult times. By doing so, we help the nation’s reputation on the international political scene and allowing and its capacity to reconstruct itself in times of need.