Wealthy nations should assist poorer countries with humanitarian relief during natural disasters. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that rich countries must give poor countries humanitarian aid during natural catastrophes. This essay agrees with the previous statement because wealthy nations are capable of helping other nations and it can strengthen the bond between at least two nations.

First, wealthy countries can help other nations because their internal conditions are already stable. Low rate of poor people, already collecting high taxes, and having a stable sense of national security. Thus, the program towards global needs can be their priority without any hesitation. With that being said, some refugees can also be brought to those nations as well whenever their own countries are in crisis. The capability is something that is not being questioned anymore because the United Nations is always ready to give more aid. For example, the United States helps by giving food and housing supplies to Papuans who have lost their homes due to landslides.

Second, it can strengthen the international relationship between “the giver” and “the receiver”. The bond can be continued sustainably with not only one aspect, which is about humanitarian aid, but also can improve trading agreements, international security, and joint policy between at least two nations. While every nation can bond mutually like this, world peace and prosperity become something that is not hard to accomplish. For example, similar to the first idea, which is between the United States and Indonesia. Many smart and skilled citizens from Papua joined Freeport, which is a joint company between the two nations, focusing on mining gold. One other example is the Fullbright scholarship from the United States, which provides a special quota for Papua high-schoolers who want to apply to college overseas.

In conclusion, wealthy nations must assist poorer countries with adequate humanitarian aid during natural disasters because they are capable enough and can form a mutual connection that benefits the world as a whole.