Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, weddings have become larger and more expensive. The reason why it occurs is the rapid development in technology resulting in social trends. I consider it to be a negative development because of trash, money and spending time for planning and booking which were made by wedding.

Social media led to this trend spreading widely. Because of this effect, people can easily update their wedding records, including how they celebrate significantly. By doing so, the couple show off their social status and financial ability to satisfy their superiority complex. Throughout their video, people will raise the sense of comparison. As a result, audiences will compare how much money they cost or how many people they invite in themself wedding. Finally they will spend more money on their wedding and enter a vicious cycle. For example, TVBS which is a news company from Taiwan hyped the couple spending 10 million New Taiwan Dollars on wedding. Immediately, a lot of people leave comments and decide to hold more expensive weddings.

In my opinion, it is a negative development overall. To hold a wedding, couples will produce garbage, cost a lot, lead to financial problems and spend too much time planning the wedding process. Firstly, the considerable consumption of paper which was made for inviting cards or wrapping gifts. The decorations from weddings such as balloons or flowers are also wasted after the end of the wedding. Secondly, the costs from renting a wedding dress, booking a place and holding a feast impact a lot on their finances. This effect may lead to couples spending more unpredictable money they can not afford, ending up with financial problems. Finally, the couple will waste so much time managing weddings such as planning a show, hiring the singer or hoster. Every single part needs to be managed early, roughly one to two months.

In conclusion, society’s awareness about the wedding results in couples getting financial problems and making garbage pollution. I believe that there are many negative expect of spending lots of money on weddings.